30 Days Wild – Day Twenty-Nine

TWT_30_Days_Wild_countdown_29[1]

Monday 29th June:

A long day at work today. We are in the midst of a heatwave and it’s scorching. I’ve spent most of the day in the air conditioned library which is always either too hot or too cold but never just right. Today I had at least two more layers on at work than I would have needed outside. I was pretty chilly and decided to take my lunch break on the lawn. I took off my shoes and socks and sat in the shade under a fir tree for half an hour listening to the birds. It was really lovely. I remembered a previous health & well being session I had taken on ‘mindful walking’ and I tried to absorb my surroundings; concentrating on relaxation and awareness of that moment. What a great way to spend my lunchtime! Back to work and I felt peaceful but was longing for more outdoors time.

image
Feeling the grass beneath my bare feet. A moment’s bliss in my long working day.

After work Marcus & I took a walk through General Cemetery. It’s one of my favourite green spaces because it’s so quiet and peaceful. Even though it’s pretty close to a main road and the city centre; when you stand in the middle all you can hear is the birds singing. Last summer I saw two European Green Woodpeckers there and found a Great Spotted (sadly deceased). In the autumn, Marcus and I took a walk around and found some colourful funghi. I couple of weeks ago I was thrilled to spot one of my favourite solitary bees, the ashy mining bee (Andrena cineraria). This evening, we overturned an old fallen tree trunk and saw a multitude of centipedes, milipedes and woodlice but the star of the show was this lesser stag beetle…

wpid-20150626_214531.jpg
A lesser stag beetle found in General Cemetery, Nottingham.

Very exciting 🙂  It goes to show that you can find the most unusual, exotic looking creatures right on your doorstep!

All images subject to copywrite. All opinions expressed on this site are my own and don’t necessarily represent the view of Nottinghamshire Wildlife Trust for whom I volunteer, or any other organisation.

2 thoughts on “30 Days Wild – Day Twenty-Nine

  1. Yes, it looks like a stag beetle to me, too .. lucky you!!

    I know what you mean about mindfulness, especially in relation to nature. It really does restore your soul, doesn’t it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

