30 Days Wild – Day Fifteen

TWT_30_Days_Wild_countdown_15[1]

Monday 15th June:

image
An area where the grass has been left to grow. There are lots of clover, speedwell and other wild flowers shining out of the lovely green grass.

Campus is really beautiful at the moment. I cycle in most days. Its a short journey and not a particularly nice one as it’s all along the main road. However as soon as I get on to University Park I can hear the song birds calling and see magpies and crows hopping around. Some areas of the grass have been left to grow long and have an abundance of wild flowers which stand out like bright jewels in the grass. There’s plenty of clover which I learnt on my course at the weekend is a member of the pea family; you can tell this by the signature flag – wing – keel shape of the flowers. There are horse chestnut, sweet chestnut, oak, beech and all kinds of other trees with bright full leaves. It’s a lovely place to be. Today I was overtaken by a Bombus hypnorum (tree bumblebee) whilst riding my bike along Library Road. I noticed that there seem to be these fluffly seeds floating about like miniature clouds everywhere. Here, along the verge of the grass they have congregated.

image
With twinkling drops of dew on them, these fluffy seeds almost look like giant snowflakes.

I don’t know what they are or where they’ve come from as I can’t see any on the surrounding trees but it goes to show the extraordinary ways that plants and trees have evolved to spread their seeds far and wide. When I was a child and a seed like this sailed past, we would imagine that they were fairies and catch it with our hands then make a wish when we let them go. I still do this from time to time. It’s a small, private action that makes me feel more connected to a world and brings back wild memories 🙂

I think there are a few birds nests around the library as well. I saw the fledgling great tit last week and today a lovely little blackbird was hopping around on the grass with a few baby, downy feathers still clinging on. I watched from the window as it called for its parents to bring food. I saw both mum and dad blackbird close by but I didn’t manage to see them feed it.

All images subject to copywrite. All opinions expressed on this site are my own and don’t necessarily represent the view of Nottinghamshire Wildlife Trust for whom I volunteer, or any other organisation.

Leave a Reply

