30 Days Wild – Day Twelve

TWT_30_Days_Wild_countdown_12[1]

Friday 12th June:

Marcus’s 30th Birthday! I wasn’t sure how ‘wild’ I would be able to get as today’s activities were up to him. However, when his barber told him the appointments were running late this afternoon, Marcus suggested we pop down to the community garden on Forest Recreation Ground while we waited! What a lovely suprise for me!

image
At the community garden, Forest Fields Recreation Ground, Nottingham.
image
I’m not sure what this flower is but it was literally buzzing with bees. Here’s the birthday boy taking a closer look.

It was a really hot sunny day. We had a little poke around and saw plenty of lovely bees, as well as quite a few chafer beetles which, although very pretty, I’ve since found out are a bit of a gardener’s nightmare. There doesn’t seem to be that much growing at the moment… a few strawberry plants, some fennel, lavender  and some wild flowers – mostly poppies.

image
A chafer beetle in the community garden: really quite pretty and colourful but not a gardener’s friend.
image
A lovely big buff-tailed bumblebee, Bombus terrestris, at the community garden.

Marcus pointed out this wonderful bee giving itself a good wash on the edge of the planted and I shot a little video of it. There is more to insect life than you might think! Maybe after watching it you’ll fall as in love with these fuzzy little creatures as I am 🙂

They have a big Grow Wild banner up at the front so I presume the garden community is active. I am going to try and find out how to get involved. I’m struggling to find any information about it on the internet so I think I will phone up the council and see if they can direct me to the right place. It’s not always easy to find out about these types of projects but it’s worth having a dig around your local area if you are interested in the idea of a community garden or even a shared allotment scheme.

image
The colouring on these bees, namely the yellow stripe on the lower abdomen just before the white, and the lack of pollen baskets suggest to me that these are cuckoo bumblebees. Possibly gypsy, Bombus bohemicus or Southern, Bombus vestalis.

All images subject to copywrite. All opinions expressed on this site are my own and don’t necessarily represent the view of Nottinghamshire Wildlife Trust for whom I volunteer, or any other organisation.

Leave a Reply

