30 Days Wild – Day Eleven

TWT_30_Days_Wild_countdown_11[1]Blackbird 30 Days Wild

Thursday 11th June:

Today I had quite a lazy day. I lounged around the house watching Springwatch, watered the garden, fed the pigeons and that was about it! Not much to report on the wild side so I thought I’d share this video that I took a couple of days ago.

Inspired by the story of the blue tit on Springwatch that had a bit of a mite infestation, I used a tiny 45x microscope like this one to watch the life on a feather I took off the crow from Day 8. To be honest, everything looks amazing through this little microscope but it really was interesting to see the way the mites moved: kind of sideways across the barbs of the feather.

Absolutely fascinating – a whole little world on one feather.

All images subject to copyright.

Leave a Reply

