30 Days Wild – Day Four

TWT_30_Days_Wild_countdown_04[1]

Thursday 4th June:

At 6am it was with tired, bleary eyes that I viewed the fields and farmland rushing past out of the car window as we drove the 25 miles to take mum into hospital for her operation. I spent a couple of hours on the ward with her before she went into theatre then headed into the city centre on the bus.

I had a lovely breakfast (sundried tomato, olive and artichoke panini & black coffee) at Don Pasquale’s in the Market Square. One of my favourite things to do in Cambridge when I’ve got the time & money is to sit out under the umbrellas at this wonderful, independent restaurant and watch the people going about their day. So that’s what I did.

20150604_103417
Watching the word go by from Don Pasquale’s

After breakfast I walked up towards the Grafton Centre and along Burleigh Street which has changed quite a bit in the last 10 years but is now full of fantastic charity shops. I got a few bargains and met a friend for a pint in the beer garden at The Tram Depot. I was trying to think of how to make the most of my time back in Cambridge and what ‘wild’ things I could do there. I thought I would try and stroke the cows that graze on Midsummer Common but when I got there they had all been moved away to make room for the annual Strawberry Fair. I found a few streets of old terrace houses and admired the roses in their gardens. I probably should have walked down to the river and watched the punts or tried to spot the black swan that haunts the Cam. I did feel a bit as though I had wasted a good wild opportunity there.

20150604_112539
One of the little backstreets that I poked my head down.

I spent the evening at my Grandma’s and I’ve decided that my favourite wild thing happened whilst spending time with her. I’ve got my Wildlife Watch group on Saturday and I arrived down in Suffolk with a big bundle of bamboo canes that I thought I would be able to saw up at my mum’s with some power tools. However that didn’t go to plan and I resigned myself to an evening of chopping up bamboo with a pocketboy saw and getting lots of splinters in my Grandma’s front yard. My Grandad decided that wasn’t a good idea and roped in his next door neighbour Jock to help. Lovely Jock then proceeded to saw up 6 inch pieces of bamboo from the 10 x 4m canes, in his kitchen, in his pants. I did tell him that it could certainly wait until he’d got dressed but he wasn’t having it and started cutting them straight away. I was so grateful though, and explained to him and my Grandad about how my youth group would be making bee hotels with them and how appreciative they would all be. I settled in to the rest of the evening hollowing out each piece of cut bamboo and watching Springwatch with my Grandmother 🙂

20150604_225042
Ouch. ‘Wild’ bamboo splinter cut.

All images subject to copywrite. All opinions expressed on this site are my own and don’t necessarily represent the view of Nottinghamshire Wildlife Trust for whom I volunteer, or any other organisation.

Leave a Reply

