30 Days Wild – Day Two

TWT_30_Days_Wild_countdown_02[1]

Tuesday 2nd June:

Today I was at the Djanogly Learning Resource Centre on Jubilee Campus (University of Nottingham) doing a cover shift. My usual workplace (Hallward Library on University Park Campus) is fine, I love working on the main campus and walking down to the lake in the evenings or sitting out on the grass for lunch in the summer. However, DLRC at Jubilee is something else completely! It’s a very strange looking building built almost entirely of windows and it sits on a platform out on the middle of a small lake. I really enjoy working over there and there is always something different to see on the lake.

Canadian Goose family on the lake at Jubilee Campus, Nottingham.
Canadian Goose family on the lake at Jubilee Campus, Nottingham.

The walkway inside the buliding spirals right around until you get to the top. I walked up there for the first time today and noticed that all of the buildings have green roofs filled with wild flowers! I can’t tell you how pleased I was to see that 🙂 It was a beautiful day today. I looked down and saw carp basking in the shallows and  saw families of moorhens, coots , geese and mallards swimming along the sides of the reedbeds but what really thrilled me later on as I was sitting on the library lending desk was watching the swallows hunting. They are so amazing agile! It was a real privilege to see them skimming the water surface and swooping around in the sky. Much more entertaining than checking my emails or library records on the computers.

20150602_132528
A mallard waiting outside the library doors like a scene from Hitchcock’s “Birds”

At around 4.30pm a few mallards and a moorhen started to congregate at the entrance to library… apparently this is the time that they are fed by the colleague whose shift I was covering. I was a bit worried that they might come inside the library and I would have to chase them out but they were quite well behaved.

All images subject to copywrite. All opinions expressed on this site are my own and don’t necessarily represent the view of Nottinghamshire Wildlife Trust for whom I volunteer, or any other organisation.

Leave a Reply

