30 Days Wild – Day One!

TWT_30_Days_Wild_countdown_01[1]

To be quite honest, it’s been a bit of a slow start to my #30DaysWild Challenge and actually I’ve realised that I don’t spend as much time enjoying nature outdoors as I thought I did! So here I am learning something (about myself) already. I’ve had a rather hectic week with work and also travelling back down to my hometown in Suffolk to be with my mum while she went into hospital. Still, being out in the country certainly gave me a wonderful entry for my day 3! I was going to post each week with my daily activities but they are becoming rather long so I’ve decided instead to write each day and publish them whenever I get a chance.

Monday 1st June:

This morning I woke up to the rather pungent smell of Marcus cooking with our home-made foraged Wild Garlic pesto. I can’t say it smells particularly pleasant but it does taste delicious! You only need a teaspoon full to flavour a whole dish. We collected loads of leaves and quite a few flowers last weekend and Marcus washed the slugs off then blitzed them all up with a bit of salt, pepper and olive oil. It seems to have kept really well in the fridge and I’m looking forward to having it for the next few weeks on pasta and in stews. We do enjoy foraging when we can but we are in no way experts. Last year we collected so many plums and apples on our wild scrumping trip. I made some really scrumptious plum and ginger jam and a few apple crumbles. This year we are hoping to up our game a bit. I’ve managed to book us both on to a weekend course at the end of October in Mushroom and Funghi Identification which is very exciting, although I’m still not sure I’d be brave enough to have to pick and eat them! The courses are being run by Nottinghamshire Wildlife Trust, and there are a few others throughout this summer – grasses, moths, butterflies, bees, wildflowers. If you are interested in learning more about wildlife your local wildlife trust is a great place to start looking for short courses.

Look out for more foraging trips throughout my 30 Days Wild. It’s something that Marcus and I can really get in to doing together; combining my love of nature with his love of food and cooking! Plus, it’s elderflower season!

All images subject to copywrite. All opinions expressed on this site are my own and don’t necessarily represent the view of Nottinghamshire Wildlife Trust for whom I volunteer, or any other organisation.

Leave a Reply

